Page 1 of 2

os2 loader

Posted: Fri Feb 08, 2008 00:31
by Pasha
В данный момент os2ldr пишется и отлаживается. Собственно в данный момент отлаживается взаимодействие уже загруженного кернеля и тех функций что поставляет ему os2ldr. Уже сделан os2ldr.ini для настраивания os2ldr, пока в проекте только выбор файла кернеля для загрузки.

Вопрос, что еще не хватает в супе?

Posted: Fri Feb 08, 2008 01:01
by Pasha
Development of os2ldr is in progress. Now we debug communication of loader with loaded kernel and functions provided by loader to kernel. There is os2ldr.ini to setup loader parameters that contains only kernel image file for loading for now. Are there any suggestions what else to add in ini file?

Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2008 12:07
by V.Stepan
Ну, раз можно разные кернелы подкладывать, логично разные config.sys/startup.cmd/autoexec.bat использовать.

Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2008 13:42
by Pasha
Ну вообще то os2ldr ими не занимается, а разные конфиги и так предусмотрены, AltF1-F2

Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2008 17:49
by V.Stepan
Pasha wrote:Ну вообще то os2ldr ими не занимается
Я имел ввиду, чтобы os2ldr (если может так, конечно) согласно своему ini скопировал укзанную троицу вместо существующих в корень загрузочного диска.
Pasha wrote:а разные конфиги и так предусмотрены, AltF1-F2
Дык, это:
1) руками
2) надо 2 перезагрузки - вначале в комстроку, затем уже в выбранный вариант.
А если можно сделать, как я предложил, то получается красивее - при старте выбрал вариант, и сразу всё загрузилось.

Posted: Tue Feb 12, 2008 00:51
by dixie
Ñêîïèðîâàòü îí íè÷åãî íå ìîæåò - â ýòî âðåìÿ çàïèñü åù¸ íåâîçìîæíà - òîëüêî ÷òåíèå.

Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2008 02:43
by Yoda
Pasha wrote:Development of os2ldr is in progress. Now we debug communication of loader with loaded kernel and functions provided by loader to kernel. There is os2ldr.ini to setup loader parameters that contains only kernel image file for loading for now. Are there any suggestions what else to add in ini file?


Just tested new loader - Great job :-)

this is improvements needed for selection menu:
- always output users key input to screen.
As you don't do this now, user have no idea, if the key inputs are received.
It is VERY importent for end users to see, that keystrokes are received !

- always respond to a received command
Whether a command is just a number key or simply enter, always respond
with a 'received <enter> for default - booting xxxx now' or similar

These are the things, that make it a lot more user friendly :-)

Boots all way here on first test - great job !!!


Yoda

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 20:34
by David McKenna
I tested the os2ldr recently posted on Hobbes. Booting hung on the 'boot-blob' screen with the floppy drive light on solid. Had to hard boot afterwards. This was eCS 2.0 rc4 with SMP kernel on an ASUS P4C800 based PC.

Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2008 06:07
by Pasha
David McKenna wrote:I tested the os2ldr recently posted on Hobbes. Booting hung on the 'boot-blob' screen with the floppy drive light on solid. Had to hard boot afterwards. This was eCS 2.0 rc4 with SMP kernel on an ASUS P4C800 based PC.


Do you change acpi to 3.7 version?

Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2008 08:56
by David McKenna
Yes... this was with ACPI 3.07 and APM 1.22. I tried with and without os2ldr.ini but got the same hang. Booting is normal with the original IBM os2ldr.

Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2008 10:31
by dixie
How this looks? Ini menu appearing on the screen?
Try to create tiny boot diskette (kernel/new ldr/ini) and boot - is kernel starting? If logo/revision string will be present, this hang is some kind of int13ext problems.

Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2008 10:37
by Pasha
David McKenna wrote:Yes... this was with ACPI 3.07 and APM 1.22. I tried with and without os2ldr.ini but got the same hang. Booting is normal with the original IBM os2ldr.


Find ACPI28022008.ZIP at betazone (SSS). This must work

Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2008 20:49
by David McKenna
Dixie,

The hang screen looks like this:
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
OS/2 <-- (in green letters)










BootJFS. Product of Serenity Systems (c) Pavel Shtemenko
Loading OS2KRNL (14.104a_SMP)...
BootJFS. Product of Serenity Systems (c) Pavel Shtemenko_
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The cursor at the end is blinking.

I copied the files you describe to a floppy and ran sysinstx a:. I cannot boot this floppy, I get:

OS/2 !! SYS03146
OS/2 !! SYS02027

when I try.

Pasha,

I tried to boot with the test acpi.psd you request, but I get the same hang with the same screen.

Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2008 22:00
by dixie
David McKenna wrote:OS/2 !! SYS03146

SYS3146: The system cannot find the OS2LDR.MSG file.
Place it on diskette and try again ;)

Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2008 22:38
by David McKenna
OK... now the floppy boots to the following message:

The CONFIG.SYS file in the root directory could not be opened. A menu with alternative CONFIG.SYS files that can be used to boot will follow this message.
Press Enter to continue...

I press enter and get this message:

The system cannot find the file "ALTF1MID.SCR". This device driver, program, or data file is not located in the default path or the path specified for it in the CONFIG.SYS file. Install this file in the correct directory or correct the appropriate CONFIG.SYS file statement.
Press Enter to continue...

If I press enter, I get this message again... and again.... and again...

Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2008 23:42
by dixie
Ok, kernel booting on FAT, but not booting on JFS.
BootJFS tested with new loader. So, we need some time for thinking... ;)

Posted: Fri Feb 29, 2008 05:50
by Pasha
I install eCS rc3 to vpc at JFS. change only os2ldr and boot success. So problem don't in JFS boot and don't in new loader.

Posted: Fri Feb 29, 2008 06:01
by Pasha
David McKenna wrote:Dixie,


I tried to boot with the test acpi.psd you request, but I get the same hang with the same screen.


If you using cadh, then, install new loader and acpi, say shutdown from command prompt, next see result after boot.

Posted: Fri Feb 29, 2008 07:48
by David McKenna
Pasha wrote:If you using cadh, then, install new loader and acpi, say shutdown from command prompt, next see result after boot.


I did this (I am using cadh) but I still see the same hang screen. I also tried REMing out ACPI, but that didn't help either.

Posted: Fri Feb 29, 2008 08:10
by Pasha
Create pls AltF2On.$$$ in root of boot disk. What file you see in screen?