eSchemes v1.40 bugs

Under the impression of eSchemes
cris
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 18:11
Contact:

eSchemes v1.40 bugs

Postby cris » Sat Dec 08, 2007 14:27

Hi all, hi Eugene.
You said "flood us with bug reports", so I'm trying to do my best ;-)
But you should be a bit more responsive... most of the issues I posted in these forums have not been replied to. A reply just to say "I have seen your message, we are investigating" would be appreciated.
I have almost all of your (EcoSoft) software registered and installed!

Let's go to the point: bug reports.

- eSchemes v1.40 doesn't play well with PianoPad (see other thread by Gabriele Gamba), even with the latest PianoPad and latest eCO-runtimes.

- eSchemes v1.40 doesn't replace correctly all title-bar controls: the control-box (the control in the upper-left part of any window) is not updated for windows that do not have an own icon (e.g. dialog windows or the window-list). See Image

- System Setup -> Appearence -> eStyler Preferences doesn't work anymore. IIRC it worked when I installed eSchemes v1.40, but it broke after another package (eCO-RT?) was installed afterwards. In POPUPLOG.OS2 I have the following:

12-08-2007 11:58:16 SYS3175 PID 004c TID 0001 Slot 00a1
G:\ECS\SYSTEM\ESTYLER\ESTYLER.EXE
c0000005
00022078
P1=00000000 P2=ffffffff P3=XXXXXXXX P4=XXXXXXXX
EAX=769bd2a8 EBX=000001f0 ECX=000001f0 EDX=ffffffff
ESI=00000000 EDI=00000000
DS=0053 DSACC=d0f3 DSLIM=5fffffff
ES=0053 ESACC=d0f3 ESLIM=5fffffff
FS=150b FSACC=00f3 FSLIM=00000030
GS=0000 GSACC=**** GSLIM=********
CS:EIP=005b:00022078 CSACC=d0df CSLIM=5fffffff
SS:ESP=0053:00072810 SSACC=d0f3 SSLIM=5fffffff
EBP=00072830 FLG=00012286

ESTYLER.EXE 0001:00012078

- When applying a scheme, if immediately after I open the desktop proerties notebook and go to the "Background" tab, the WPS resets itself. After this reset the WPS restarts with the "lockup" page (as if you had chosen "Lockup Now" from the context menu). At this point I have to restart the whole system by pressing C-A-D repeatedly. If instead I try to unlock it by typing the password, the "lockup" screen goes away, but the system is locked up so hard that I have to cycle the power.

These are the first bugs that come to mind... others may follow.
Hope this helps!
Bye

Cris

cris
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 18:11
Contact:

Postby cris » Mon Dec 10, 2007 00:13

Another problem: with at least two of the schemes (Winter and eCOToys) there are windows that are not readable because of the fact that the foreground and the background colors are the same.
For example, this is a screenshot of the "File Open" dialog of QDVDAuthor (an app ported from Linux, using the QT3 port):
Image
I don't know if the problem is in eSchemes or in the port. It seems (but I can't be completely sure) that apps using plain PM don't have the problem, while those using custom controls are more easily broken by the application of a scheme.

cris
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 18:11
Contact:

Postby cris » Sun Dec 16, 2007 02:32

Eugene,
I am finding more and more apps that show this weird behavior when an eScheme is applied. And they are native apps too. One example is PMView 2000, which does not show some controls in the preferences notebook.
I also find that when this happens (i.e. when controls are hidden) the CPU will jump to 100% and stay there until I close the buggy window.

Bye
Cris

User avatar
Eugene Gorbunoff
Site Admin
Posts: 685
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 11:18
Location: St.Petersburg, Russia

Postby Eugene Gorbunoff » Sun Dec 16, 2007 03:30

hmm

do you use eSchemes 1.37 or 1.4x ?

please install "eSchemes 1.37 fixed"

cris
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 18:11
Contact:

Postby cris » Mon Dec 17, 2007 01:01

Eugene,
I am using eSchemes v1.4. Should I back-level to v1.37?

And BTW, what is 1.37-fixed? Where can I download it? Betazone?

Bye
Cris

User avatar
Eugene Gorbunoff
Site Admin
Posts: 685
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 11:18
Location: St.Petersburg, Russia

Postby Eugene Gorbunoff » Mon Dec 17, 2007 01:04

yes, BETAZONE -> "eSchemes 1.37 fixed"

btw, push Prokushev via e-mail and ask him where is fixed eSchemes? :\

cris
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 18:11
Contact:

Postby cris » Mon Dec 17, 2007 03:08

Eugene,
v1.37 is completely gone from BetaZone. The listing jumps from v1.36 to v1.38.
I'll try to contact Yuri via email to ask him for a fixed eSchemes release.

Thank you
Bye

Cris

User avatar
Eugene Gorbunoff
Site Admin
Posts: 685
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 11:18
Location: St.Petersburg, Russia

Postby Eugene Gorbunoff » Mon Dec 17, 2007 03:11


cris
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 18:11
Contact:

Postby cris » Mon Dec 17, 2007 04:54

Ok, this got me the file eSchemes-20061112.wpi. Wow, do I really have to install a file form 2006??
Guess I'll try it, BTW.

Thank you
Bye

Cris


Return to “WPS: eSchemes”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest