SMP on new Intel Core2Duo (Conroe)?

Discussion of ACPI driver (Power management, multi-processor support, PnP)
magog96
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 10:34
Location: Germany
Contact:

SMP on new Intel Core2Duo (Conroe)?

Postby magog96 » Mon Sep 18, 2006 10:41

Hi!

Is there some information if the new Intel Core2Duo work on eCS in SMP?
Maybe there has been experience with the previous Intel Pentium D processor.

I assume the ACPI driver is needed as for the Athlon64 X2 models.

Many thanks!
Kind regards,
Juergen Ulbts

User avatar
Pasha
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2006 14:17

Re: SMP on new Intel Core2Duo (Conroe)?

Postby Pasha » Mon Sep 18, 2006 14:18

magog96 wrote:Hi!

Is there some information if the new Intel Core2Duo work on eCS in SMP?
Maybe there has been experience with the previous Intel Pentium D processor.

I assume the ACPI driver is needed as for the Athlon64 X2 models.

Many thanks!


With Pentium D is workied, With Centrino Duo is worked. I mean tested and worked.

magog96
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 10:34
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: SMP on new Intel Core2Duo (Conroe)?

Postby magog96 » Mon Sep 18, 2006 16:16

Pasha wrote:With Pentium D is workied, With Centrino Duo is worked. I mean tested and worked.


Many thanks Pasha!

Ok, then I should be able order the Core2Duo E6600 processor and the Gigabyte mainboard in 4 to 5 weeks.

If I get the Fujitsu-Siemens P5615/5616 for a reasonable price I may turn to the Athlon64 X2 instead.
2GB Memory and PCIe graphics card have already been ordered.

I'll get back to you when I have the system.
Kind regards,

Juergen Ulbts

Robert_L
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 18:00
Location: Germany

Re: SMP on new Intel Core2Duo (Conroe)?

Postby Robert_L » Mon Sep 18, 2006 18:39

magog96 wrote:If I get the Fujitsu-Siemens P5615/5616 for a reasonable price I may turn to the Athlon64 X2 instead.


Intel mainboard chipsets are currently better supported from acpi drivers than nForce chipsets. I sure Pasha is doing his best to support it, but nVidia does not release any documentation about their hardware.

magog96
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 10:34
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: SMP on new Intel Core2Duo (Conroe)?

Postby magog96 » Tue Sep 19, 2006 16:22

Robert_L wrote:
magog96 wrote:If I get the Fujitsu-Siemens P5615/5616 for a reasonable price I may turn to the Athlon64 X2 instead.


Intel mainboard chipsets are currently better supported from acpi drivers than nForce chipsets. I sure Pasha is doing his best to support it, but nVidia does not release any documentation about their hardware.


I know this problem. It's the same problem SciTech has with their graphic driver.
Currently the biggest problem could be the Marvel 8053 Gigabit chip used on the Gigabyte mainboard for the Conroe chip. There is a driver for older versions of the Marvel chip but I don't know if they also work with the 8053 (patching the driver with the correct PCI-ID may not be enough).
Kind regards,

Juergen Ulbts

Robert_L
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 18:00
Location: Germany

Re: SMP on new Intel Core2Duo (Conroe)?

Postby Robert_L » Tue Sep 19, 2006 17:31

magog96 wrote:the biggest problem could be the Marvel 8053 Gigabit chip


Marvell 88E8053 chip is working as of GenMac v1.8 (April 2006, so far unreleased).

magog96 wrote:There is a driver for older versions of the Marvel chip but I don't know if they also work with the 8053 (patching the driver with the correct PCI-ID may not be enough).


Patching the old 7.00 Marvell Yukon driver for OS/2 won't help, it is missing support for the Yukon2 chip family. Btw, in case someone wants to create a native OS/2 driver for the complete Marvell Gigabit series including their latest chips: The source code of Marvell's Linux driver is available for download under GPL 2 license.

magog96
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 10:34
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: SMP on new Intel Core2Duo (Conroe)?

Postby magog96 » Wed Sep 20, 2006 00:53

Robert_L wrote:
magog96 wrote:the biggest problem could be the Marvel 8053 Gigabit chip


Marvell 88E8053 chip is working as of GenMac v1.8 (April 2006, so far unreleased).

Thank you for the information. I must have missed it and I'm pretty sure I'll get the driver even if it's not officially released until then. :)
Kind regards,

Juergen Ulbts

magog96
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 10:34
Location: Germany
Contact:

Postby magog96 » Wed Oct 11, 2006 02:26

Just a little update...
The first components of my new system have already arrived. This weekend I'll build up the new system and do the installation work.

It'll be without ACPI as I didn't bought the Software Subscription Services (yet). I've bought SMP for eCS 1.0 and updated it to 1.1 and 1.2. Before Warpstock Europe next month it's unlikely I'll buy the Software Subscription Services just to test SMP on the Core2Duo E6600 which I run on the Gigabyte GA-965P-DS4 motherboard.

@Pasha: If you want me to test ACPI just contact me directly. My E-Mail address is on my website (http://www.juergen-ulbts.de/ - see 'Contact').

[EDIT] 2006-10-20
I got the hardware finally on Wednesday. eCS is basically working (copied old eCS 1.1 installation with updated drivers - as I wasn't able to boot from the eCS 1.2R CD) except for the Marvell chipset.

@Robert: I sent you a message (I read after I sent it that Adrian said that Willibald fixed the 64Bit address issue already for an Intel card...we'll see it with the near GenMac 2.0 release).

[EDIT] 2006-10-21
I modified the eCS 1.2R CD1 to finally boot from it.
-updated DANIS506.ADD + DANIATAP.FLT in \BOOTIMGS\ecsdisk0.pf (MEMDISK file) and \ECS\BOOT\
-removed TESTCFG.SYS in CONFIG.X and CONFIG.SYS --> \BOOTIMGS\ecsdisk0.pf (MEMDISK file)
Kind regards,

Juergen Ulbts


Return to “ACPI for eComStation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron