Enabling APIC mode

Discussion of ACPI driver (Power management, multi-processor support, PnP)
User avatar
Gabriele
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 21:47

Enabling APIC mode

Postby Gabriele » Thu Mar 29, 2007 17:54

Hi all,

I'm trying to test more extensively ACPI on my laptop (Toshiba -- Tecra A5-148 http://en.ecomstation.ru/hardware.php?a ... tem&id=828 ). ACPI is working fine, as batteries widget shows correctly.
But what's required to enter APIC mode? Uni or SMP kernel (it is a non-smp system)? Which are the right parameters for ACPI.PSD? Nothing, /ACPI or /SMP / R /ACPI ?
I did lot of experiments but I was just able to kill the touchpad :-)

User avatar
Eugene Gorbunoff
Site Admin
Posts: 685
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 11:18
Location: St.Petersburg, Russia

Postby Eugene Gorbunoff » Thu Mar 29, 2007 18:15

* OK, ACPI.PSD without arguments is enough.
* APIC is possible with SMP kernel only.

Code: Select all

Q56: How to convince that ACPI works well?
A56: There are different cases:
     First of all,
       Test Util\Uptime.exe utility
       Does timer work fine?

     If using notebook then 
       Look at battery widget. Does it show correct values?
       Does notebook work even if you detach/attach AC several times?

User avatar
Gabriele
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 21:47

Postby Gabriele » Thu Mar 29, 2007 19:18

Eugene Gorbunoff wrote:* OK, ACPI.PSD without arguments is enough.
* APIC is possible with SMP kernel only.

Code: Select all

Q56: How to convince that ACPI works well?
A56: There are different cases:
     First of all,
       Test Util\Uptime.exe utility
       Does timer work fine?

     If using notebook then 
       Look at battery widget. Does it show correct values?
       Does notebook work even if you detach/attach AC several times?


I installed SMP kernel (14.093a). Uptime.exe is working fine, so the battery widget. What's timer?
[c:\ecs\bin]tmrtest.exe
rc=0 Resolution:1193167
Elapsed 0 sec. Must be 0
Elapsed 2 sec. Must be 2
Elapsed 4 sec. Must be 4
Elapsed 6 sec. Must be 6
Elapsed 8 sec. Must be 8

This too seems fine, but I just have 16 IRQs: is it normal in APIC mode?

mikeforester
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 00:56

Postby mikeforester » Sun Apr 22, 2007 07:39

Gabriele wrote:I installed SMP kernel (14.093a). Uptime.exe is working fine, so the battery widget. What's timer?
[c:\ecs\bin]tmrtest.exe
rc=0 Resolution:1193167
Elapsed 0 sec. Must be 0
Elapsed 2 sec. Must be 2
Elapsed 4 sec. Must be 4
Elapsed 6 sec. Must be 6
Elapsed 8 sec. Must be 8

This too seems fine, but I just have 16 IRQs: is it normal in APIC mode?


You can get later kernels here. Did you run IrqStat.exe?
-Mike

User avatar
Gabriele
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 21:47

Postby Gabriele » Mon Apr 23, 2007 15:28

mikeforester wrote:
Gabriele wrote:I installed SMP kernel (14.093a). Uptime.exe is working fine, so the battery widget. What's timer?
[c:\ecs\bin]tmrtest.exe
rc=0 Resolution:1193167
Elapsed 0 sec. Must be 0
Elapsed 2 sec. Must be 2
Elapsed 4 sec. Must be 4
Elapsed 6 sec. Must be 6
Elapsed 8 sec. Must be 8

This too seems fine, but I just have 16 IRQs: is it normal in APIC mode?


You can get later kernels here. Did you run IrqStat.exe?


Hi Mike,

14.093a is the kernel from eCS 2.0 beta 3: is there a benefit in using 14.104a?
This is irqstat output:

[c:\scrivania]irqstat
Use 16 IRQs
IRQ00 called 7112
IRQ01 called 546
IRQ02 called 234095
IRQ03 called 0
IRQ04 called 0
IRQ05 called 0
IRQ06 called 0
IRQ07 called 0
IRQ08 called 201678
IRQ09 called 103
IRQ10 called 2275
IRQ11 called 10
IRQ12 called 0
IRQ13 called 1
IRQ14 called 29770
IRQ15 called 258

On my desktop machine, that is using the same kernel but that it is a true SMP machine (AMD X2) while the laptop just has a Centrino, I see 24 IRQs available.
Note that I don't need more IRQs on the laptop, I'm just unsure if ACPI is working right...


Return to “ACPI for eComStation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron