[SOLVED] DualCore/X2 SMP and FaxWorks

Discussion of ACPI driver (Power management, multi-processor support, PnP)
magog96
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 10:34
Location: Germany
Contact:

[SOLVED] DualCore/X2 SMP and FaxWorks

Postby magog96 » Mon Feb 26, 2007 17:56

Hi!

I've got some trouble with FaxWorks (PMFAX).
When I try to start the faxworks.exe in /SMP mode the machine hangs (tried it with and without /TMR).
I also changed the exe with "EXECMODE /SP <application>" but this also didn't help.

It will only run in single CPU mode (/APIC).

Anyone with the same problem or possible solution?

Environment:
-AMD Athlon64 X2 3800+ EE
-Kernel 14.104a_SMP
-ACPI 2.17
Last edited by magog96 on Tue Feb 27, 2007 00:52, edited 1 time in total.
Kind regards,
Juergen Ulbts

User avatar
Eugene Gorbunoff
Site Admin
Posts: 685
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 11:18
Location: St.Petersburg, Russia

Postby Eugene Gorbunoff » Mon Feb 26, 2007 19:38

Pasha offers make experiment:
1) stop the second CPU
2) start program
3) run CPU again

How to stop a CPU?
x:\OS2\MPCPUMON.EXE -> State -> ..

magog96
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 10:34
Location: Germany
Contact:

Postby magog96 » Mon Feb 26, 2007 19:54

Eugene Gorbunoff wrote:Pasha offers make experiment:
1) stop the second CPU
2) start program
3) run CPU again

How to stop a CPU?
x:\OS2\MPCPUMON.EXE -> State -> ..


Good idea, I'll do that once I've got eCS 2.0 Beta 4 installed...seems it currently hangs on the desktop.
I made a backup of the previous B3a installation so I might revert back...
Kind regards,

Juergen Ulbts

User avatar
Eugene Gorbunoff
Site Admin
Posts: 685
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 11:18
Location: St.Petersburg, Russia

Postby Eugene Gorbunoff » Mon Feb 26, 2007 20:21

ok.. beta 4.. Nvidia X2.. ACPI.PSD without SMP kernel. hang in few minutes?

Start research from the beginning;
* disable APM.ADD, keep ACPI.PSD only
* disable devices
* Maybe there are conflicts of irq if running ACPI in non-APIC mode? Can you research interrupts of devices?

magog96
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 10:34
Location: Germany
Contact:

Postby magog96 » Mon Feb 26, 2007 20:33

Eugene Gorbunoff wrote:ok.. beta 4.. Nvidia X2.. ACPI.PSD without SMP kernel. hang in few minutes?

Start research from the beginning;
* disable APM.ADD, keep ACPI.PSD only
* disable devices
* Maybe there are conflicts of irq if running ACPI in non-APIC mode? Can you research interrupts of devices?


Yes, I know as I had the same problems with eCS 2.0 Beta3a.
The error was this time on the first reboot.

I did boot from CD made a chkdsk c: /f and removed all parameter from PSD=ACPI.PSD.
The installation is now ready and I think I have found already two bugs in this beta. ;)

1.)
Interesting there was no /APIC parameter set after I checked ACPI for Athon64 X2 at the installation dialog. If /APIC is now default then it's not a bug (need to check documentation).

2.) I get an SmartGuide Error with the message "Panel not found: smpacpi" at the "End of eComStation Installation" (where I have the tabs "Final Tasks", "Screen" and "Set User" and press the "Next" button).
Kind regards,

Juergen Ulbts

magog96
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 10:34
Location: Germany
Contact:

Postby magog96 » Tue Feb 27, 2007 00:58

Ok, with the new eCS 2.0 Beta 4 and ACPI 2.18 it's working.

I was also able to find the real reason for the eCS TRAPs when running eCS with SMP-Kernel and ACPI with /SMP parameter on my AMD Athlon64 X2 (nVidia nForce 430).

The problem with the TRAP is definitely caused by the USB Mouse driver (IBMs USBMOUSE) and the IBMs MOUSE.SYS.

With AMOUSE and it's USBMOUSE replacement there are no TRAPs.
Kind regards,

Juergen Ulbts

User avatar
Eugene Gorbunoff
Site Admin
Posts: 685
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 11:18
Location: St.Petersburg, Russia

Postby Eugene Gorbunoff » Tue Feb 27, 2007 15:26

Chuck McKinnis writes:

I have been running PMFAX for a long time under SMP (OS2APIC.PSD variety). If it does have a problem, MARKEXE from the toolkit is your friend.

Q59: Old application doesn't work on SMP machine. How to run it?
A59: MARKEXE from the toolkit is your friend.
http://ecomstation.ru/download/utils/MARKEXE.EXE
Pay attention to MPUNSAFE option.

[C:\]markexe /?

Operating System/2 Executable File Attribute Utility
Version 4.00.004 Oct 4 2001Usage: MARKEXE [/?] [/Q] [FORCE] [NO] [option] filename...
Valid options are:
DISPLAY - display status of flags
DLLINIT - per-process initialization
DLLTERM - per-process termination
WINDOWAPI - window api (PM application)
WINDOWCOMPAT - window compatible application
NOTWINDOWCOMPAT - not window compatible application
UNSPECIFIED - unspecified application type
LFNS - long filenames support
MPUNSAFE - multi-processor unsafe application
SETVERSION - Write 32 bit Module Version Fiel

magog96
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 10:34
Location: Germany
Contact:

Postby magog96 » Tue Feb 27, 2007 18:33

Eugene Gorbunoff wrote:Chuck McKinnis writes:

I have been running PMFAX for a long time under SMP (OS2APIC.PSD variety). If it does have a problem, MARKEXE from the toolkit is your friend.

Q59: Old application doesn't work on SMP machine. How to run it?
A59: MARKEXE from the toolkit is your friend.


Hi Eugene!

Thank you for the hint. I've never heard of that tool. I thought I could solve all issues with EXECMODE.EXE.
So far it works without using MARKEXE but it's good to know this might help.
Kind regards,

Juergen Ulbts

User avatar
Eugene Gorbunoff
Site Admin
Posts: 685
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 11:18
Location: St.Petersburg, Russia

Postby Eugene Gorbunoff » Tue Feb 27, 2007 19:45

OS/2 mysteries today are more interesting than new technologies of Vista. You find new features every day and this features work properly!


Return to “ACPI for eComStation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron