PowerNow! for AMD-64

Discussion of ACPI driver (Power management, multi-processor support, PnP)
User avatar
Eugene Gorbunoff
Site Admin
Posts: 685
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 11:18
Location: St.Petersburg, Russia

PowerNow! for AMD-64

Postby Eugene Gorbunoff » Thu May 11, 2006 00:03

Let's discuss PowerNow! for AMD-64!

Kalle
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 11:42
Location: Germany

Postby Kalle » Sat Jun 24, 2006 11:48

I have an AMD Athlon 64 (3200+) and I'm interested to save energy if the machine does not have much to do.

mikeforester
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 00:56

Re: PowerNow! for AMD-64

Postby mikeforester » Sun Apr 22, 2007 07:44

Eugene Gorbunoff wrote:Let's discuss PowerNow! for AMD-64!

Well, I don't really know anything about it, but my BIOS has support for it. (May be disabled, I'd have to look.)

When I run powernow-k8.exe I get this:

Code: Select all

Error 110 opening POWER$ (POWER.SYS)
AMD-64 PowerNow Control
error:powernow-k8: BIOS error - no PSB

I've never seen or heard of POWER.SYS, though.
-Mike

magog96
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 10:34
Location: Germany
Contact:

Postby magog96 » Thu Aug 02, 2007 02:45

I want to bring up this topic again.
It would be nice to get PowerNow/Cool'n'Quite working.

cpuspeed (http://hobbes.nmsu.edu/cgi-bin/h-search?key=cpuspeed) seems to work only on Intel systems and not AMD:
"CPU0 Error get throttling rc=65283"

The source is not available but I also haven't tried to contact the author yet.

I currently busy working on SWTSwing or better Java applications using SWT to make them work with SWTSwing (e.g. Azureus, Eclipse,...) instead of SWT.


Here is the linux code to start with...

The new AMD Athlon 64/FX CPUFREQ Driver for Linux from September 2007:
AMD Athlon™ 64/FX Cpufreq Driver for Linux 2.10.00 - Allows the system to automatically adjust the CPU frequency, voltage and power combination that match the instantaneous user performance need. Supports all AMD Turion™ 64 Mobile Technology, AMD Opteron™ Processors, and Athlon™ 64 Processors released through 2007. Provides support for AMD PowerNow!™ technology and, where appropriate, AMD’s Cool-n-Quiet™ technology for Linux systems. Works with all kernels, version 2.6.10 or later. Requires the ondemand kernel module or the cpufreq-1.20, cpuspeed-1.20.1, or powersaved-0.8.19 or later user programs to support SMP and multi-core systems. This driver is already included in the 2.6.18 or later kernels and does not need to be downloaded again.

http://www.amd.com/us-en/assets/content ... .0.tar.bz2


Here the older driver from 2006:
AMD Turion™ 64 Mobile Technology,
AMD Opteron™ Processors, and
AMD Athlon™ 64 Processors Driver Version 1.60.01 for Linux 2.6. - Supports all AMD Turion™ 64 Mobile Technology, AMD Opteron™ Processors, and Athlon™ 64 Processors released through 2006. Provides support for AMD PowerNow!™ technology and, where appropriate, AMD’s Cool-n-Quiet™ technology for Linux systems. Works with all kernels, version 2.6.10 or later. Requires cpufreq-1.20, cpuspeed-1.20.1, or powersaved-0.8.19 or later to support SMP and dual-core systems.

http://www.amd.com/us-en/assets/content ... 01.tar.bz2
Last edited by magog96 on Thu Mar 27, 2008 12:24, edited 2 times in total.
Kind regards,
Juergen Ulbts

David McKenna
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 00:19

Postby David McKenna » Sat Aug 25, 2007 03:16

Now that I seem to have ACPI working properly, I decided to try the PowerNow app (although it seems I don't need ACPI to run it after all). Here is what I get when I run it (on a mobile Athlon 64, VIA K8T800 laptop):

Error 110 opening POWER$ (POWER.SYS)
AMD-64 PowerNow Control
powernow-k8-found PSB header at 0x0x20b1e60(phys:000f1e60)
powernow-k8-table vers: 0x14
powernow-k8-flags: 0x0
powernow-k8-voltage stabilization time: 5(*20us)
powernow-k8-flags2: 0xe
powernow-k8-ramp voltage offset: 2
powernow-k8-isochronous relief time: 3
powernow-k8-maximum voltage step: 0 - 0x1
powernow-k8-numpst: 0x1
powernow-k8-plllocktime: 0x2 (units 1us)
powernow-k8-maxfid: 0xc
powernow-k8-maxvid: 0x4
powernow-k8-numpstates: 0x2
error:powernow-k8: BIOS error: maxvid exceeded with pstate 1

Not sure what the errors mean, but they don't look good....

HTH,

Dave McKenna

magog96
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 10:34
Location: Germany
Contact:

Postby magog96 » Thu Oct 25, 2007 16:06

Here is my latest result with my AMD Athlon64 X2 3800+ EE and the powernow app:
----------------------
[l:\download\acpi\tools\power_now\extr]powernow-k8.exe
Error 110 opening POWER$ (POWER.SYS)
AMD-64 PowerNow Control
info:powernow-k8: Processor cpuid 40fb2 not supported
----------------------

I'm going to contact Froloff now. I hope he'll update the application and release it with the code so I'm able to fix it myself next time it doesn't work.

Here is the Bug entry posted by Eugene at the ACPI bugtracker (it was ignored because it's not ACPI related --> closed). Anyway it also includes the link to AMDs website I posted earlier which stored the Linux driver to use Cool'n'Quite / PowerNow!:
http://svn.netlabs.org/acpi/ticket/18
Kind regards,

Juergen Ulbts

magog96
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 10:34
Location: Germany
Contact:

Postby magog96 » Wed Dec 12, 2007 21:13

Just an update...

I got a reply from Froloff about 3 weeks ago (2007-11-23). He's not going to release the source. He was also talking about the driver source (POWER.SYS) but the driver wasn't even released as binary. Whatever!

He also mentioned that he hasn't received any user comments.
Well I don't wonder as this seems typical....Paul Smedley says the same.
Maybe if he will get more mails from other users trying to use the powernow app he'll look into it or release at least the changes he made to compile it.

Froloff also said that I could get the sources for the Linux Kernel where the powernow-k8 source should be.
The main problem (beside not having time and my personal dislike of C) is that the complete linux kernel stuff can only be accessed with GIT.
In my eyes this is just crap as beside linux there is no client available for other systems to check out the sourcecode from this repository. Even on Windows there is none to talk of (just something using the cygwin stuff).

So if someone has time to check out the current Linux sourcecode for the powernow-k8 stuff and recreate what Froloff already did this would be great. This time with the full source + changes to get it working please.

We have really a few developers out there and that they keep their knowledge doesn't help the community at all.

Ok that's it for now...I'm getting back to my other projects that are keeping me busy.
Kind regards,

Juergen Ulbts

cris
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 18:11
Contact:

Postby cris » Thu Dec 13, 2007 02:22

Hi,
I get this:

Error 110 opening POWER$ (POWER.SYS)
AMD-64 PowerNow Control
info:powernow-k8: Processor cpuid 50ff2 not supported

I don't understand why should he keep the driver for itself. What for?
If he doesn't want to give it away for free, then sell it, but keeping it for himself just makes no sense.

Bye
Cris

magog96
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 10:34
Location: Germany
Contact:

Postby magog96 » Sun Dec 16, 2007 23:03

cris wrote:Hi,
I get this:

Error 110 opening POWER$ (POWER.SYS)
AMD-64 PowerNow Control
info:powernow-k8: Processor cpuid 50ff2 not supported

I don't understand why should he keep the driver for itself. What for?
If he doesn't want to give it away for free, then sell it, but keeping it for himself just makes no sense.

Bye
Cris


I don't understand it either but it's his decision. Maybe it's not really needed.

Here is the reply I got Dmitry/Froloff maybe this helps....
Hello Juergen.

Your powernow application is not working here and also other people seem
to have problems (see: viewtopic.php?t=113).

You added a comment at the ACPI ticket that Eugene posted using my comment about Cool'n'Quite (which includes the link to AMDs Linux source for throttling the CPU).
http://svn.netlabs.org/acpi/ticket/18

Here is my result when I run your application on my AMD Athlon64 X2 3800+ EE (also posted to the ecomstation.ru forum - link above):
--------------
[l:\download\acpi\tools\power_now\extr]powernow-k8.exe
Error 110 opening POWER$ (POWER.SYS)
AMD-64 PowerNow Control
info:powernow-k8: Processor cpuid 40fb2 not supported
--------------


That just mean that your CPU is not supported by this application :)
So you doesn't need POWER.SYS driver.

It would be nice if you could address this issue and take a look at the
problem David McKenna posted.
When you release an updated version of your powernow tools it would be
great if you could include the source with some basic build instructions, so other people could add fixes that are send back to you.
It's often not easy to fix issues if you don't have the hardware to test.


It's true, but OS/2 people are not interest in Powernow! as I see. You are
only second who ask me about this tool.
For this reason, to be honest, I didn't look into sources last year and a
half, when I made this tools working for my notebook.

About sources.
Main application sources you may easy get inside linux kernel source tree
- check for powernow-k8.

As status of this project is yearly deep alpha and I made it specially for
my private use, I'm not interest to make POWER.SYS driver sources public.

Regards.
Dmitry.
Kind regards,

Juergen Ulbts


Return to “ACPI for eComStation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron